Love and Marriage

So I have DESPERATELY been trying to think of something to write under this Category. It feels a little wrong to write about how great being single is when you are actually happy in a relationship (for the first time in my life).

Over the weekend though, I read this very interesting article Love after Marriage has ended and it slightly frightened me a bit. I certainly hope this is not the case. To break the article down, there is a woman whose neighbour is elderly and has been in mourning since her neighbour has known her. They had a conservation that went like this:

“Is your husband coming home?”

“What?” I replied, with the look on my face that you imagine I would have.

“Your husband? He come home?”

“Ummm, nope.”

“You here alone?”

“I’m here with my kids,” I said. “That’s definitely not alone.”

“It’s no good,” she said sadly. “You need a husband.

And off she went, feeling very sorry for my state of affairs. Bless. If only she knew what goes on in my head. The truth is, I’m really grappling with this love business, or more specifically love after marriage.

It made me think. Even after years of knowing this, we still make such a huge fuss about the Wedding Day…How many of us talk or even think about the afterwards? Being Single is a great time to have a long hard think about this, of course as usual Life can dictate changes. But that is something else to think about, how much would you be willingly to change? How much are you willing to compromise?

What is marriage to you? What does spending the rest of your life with someone, mean to you? Do you even want to get married?

I think the problem with these day and age (just my opinion) we have so many options out there, we don’t know how to just stick to something. anymore. We always want more NOW, instantaneously. If we don’t get it, we just can take off.

2 thoughts on “Love and Marriage

  1. I definitely think that you’re right to an extent about people not wanting to stick at things- but honestly, I think a lot of people just make mistakes and aren’t necessarily as in love as they think they are. The only difference is now people have a way out when they make these mistakes. Great post!

  2. When it comes to love, I’m a true believer. When it comes to marriage, I’m a bit more sceptical. I have no problems with the idea of staying together with someone for the rest of my life – in fact, I think it’s a great idea. But I’d rather be bound to someone by love than by some State-enforced contract.

Leave a Reply

