52 Week Grateful Challenge … 3

3. Family

I really do appreciate both sides of my family but for two very different reasons. My mums side are incredibly close, sometimes I actually would prefer to hang out with them then some of my “friends”. As I’ve gotten older, I will chose to hang out with my family over friends. We are  all so different as well and yet, we just gel. We have in our little mix, gay, really religious,sporty, geeky, new age, all science. Yet, we don’t fight, we accept each other differences and I guess that’s whats makes it so easy to be around them.

On my Dad’s side they barley all speak to one another and it is just incredibly sad. It also constantly reminds me that time is precious and you shouldn’t take those you are close too for granted. They’ve also taught me that sometimes it’s not always your blood family that makes a family. It’s kind of a weird way to be grateful for a bunch of your family that don’t speak to each other, but I am. I am very grateful that I have two families that are totally different in their approaches to life.

One side of my family are really active and just want to do a lot. There the type that can’t just relax on a holiday, they have to get up at 5am and have to do things. Whereas the other side have no problem sleeping in, just lying around a pool, and there isn’t anything wrong with that either. One side of my family are incredibly active and live life to the fullest, doing everything, whereas the other side has huge problems with addiction. I know it probably sounds weird, but I am grateful for being able to see all sorts of life. It’s been able to give me the ability to understand that EVERYONE on this planet has their own story that their living. No two families are exactly alike and if families are so different, why wouldn’t the rest of the world be?

2 thoughts on “52 Week Grateful Challenge … 3

  1. Totally get where you’re coming from. Even though neither side is perfect, I’m definitely a lot closer to one side than the other. I used to feel a bit guilty about that but I don’t any more. It is what it is and in any case you can’t force something that isn’t there and for a while I tried.

    And I agree. It’s not blood that makes you a family – its love!

Leave a Reply

