Generation “Gap”

I’ve been trying to find this hashtag that I heard about last week, because there was tweet that sort of spoke to me and how different the generations are. Mainly because I completely disagreed with the tweet but also we’re not so different from the previous generation, we just have different “tools”.

 … One of the tweets got me because they said that

people used to travel on buses/trains without staring in phones…like psychopaths

Now this got to me because although most people now travelling with their phones or tablets. It is really different though? I can remember people reading books and their newspaper, or doing crosswords. I also don’t remember buses and trains/trams talking to complete strangers happily and bubbly, like it was the thing to do? I don’t know about anyone else, but I was taught to avoid strangers, especially when I was by myself.

So is having a piece of technology on a bus/train/tram really that different from having a book or a newspaper? Is it really more psychopathic?

There are different things between the generations, no doubt? But there are some that are just not that different to me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.