Just Plain Pride =D

So I hear that overseas in America today, possibly yesterday, is the first day of Pride Month. I’ve been trying to find out if Australia had a specific month for Pride, because June is the beginning of Winter here. We don’t have a lot of parades, because the weather is just bad, but we still do “celebrate” Pride month during June.

The first Mardi Gras in Australia was held on 24 June 1978 at 10 pm as a night-time celebration following a morning protest march and commemoration of the Stonewall Riots More than 500 people moved down Oxford St, calling for an end to discrimination against homosexuals in employment and housing, an end to police harassment and the repeal of all anti-homosexual laws. They marched in honour of those after the Stonewall (link is too an Australia site regarding Stonewall) riots in 1969.

Now, I have a particular topic I would like to talk about quickly with you all my Pride that I have for my brother. My brother is probably the prettiest Drag Queen that ever has Drag Queened…Not that I’m completely biased or anything. He does do a lot of other Queens costumes and they are fabulous and you can catch him at:

Vau d’vile Drag Cabaret Restaurant located in Fitzroy, Melbourne!

Leave a Reply

