World Religion Day

Usually I don’t post on the weekends unless something really amazing happens to me, or is going to happen to me. Now I am not even a religious person, but I am what is called an “Agnostic”. Which means I believe there is something out there, may not be “God” or “Gods/Goddesses”, but something else as well. Now this day is not a Public Holiday so all the shops will be open today and this day is always held on the third Sunday in the month of January.

Many organizations celebrate the day by holding interfaith events where faith leaders get together to give talks and lectures. People are encouraged to talk to and listen to people from faiths different than their own and to understand the basic tenets of other religions.

Religion is SUCH  hot topic these days. I just think we should “observe” this day. We have millions of people who have some kind of Faith and I don’t know about everyone else, but I am tired of everyone trying to make everyone else trying to be the “true religion”. Humans Beings are inherently different, the chance of you being exactly like someone else, even with identical twins, is very highly unlikely.

The third Sunday in January is annually celebrated as World Religion Day. It was established by the National Spiritual Assembly of the Baha’is of the United States in 1950 as a way to encourage interfaith understanding.

I believe that Religion while it definitely does damage, especially when it’s in the wrong hands. Can do just as much good, and this is what I am fighting for, I have seen it. I don’t think that it’s going to ever happen in my lifetime, but I believe it will eventually happen.

christian-nation

3 thoughts on “World Religion Day

Leave a Reply

