This or That? #73

this-or-that

This or That? #73

This week Bookmark Chronicles (please check them out) would like to know:

Are there any authors that you strongly dislike? Who are they and why?

(This could be overall, maybe you can’t get into their writing, don’t like the characters/world they create, or any other reason that has turned you away)

Shall I do it? Yes I shall…The author I probably dislike the most is E.L. James…The author of the famous book series “50 Shades of Grey”.

The reason for my dislike has nothing to do with the overall theme of the books. I have no problem with BDSM, I don’t do it myself, but I really honestly don’t care if you do. I also have a few acquaintances, that do work in the field. From what they told me the books are such a bad misrepresentation of the field. It makes me wonder if EL James actually even bothered to do any research.

I felt like the writing was just kind of bad as well. It seems to have odd descriptions and I guess what you might call a lot of “lazy descriptions”. I did actually try reading it, even though I actually just don’t enjoy the Genre of romance in books at all. I just barely got through the first chapter. I just felt the book could have been more. I get that the Grey books are supposed to be “naughty” for us more “delicate” types, but that doesn’t mean it has to be badly written.

One thought on “This or That? #73

Leave a Reply

