And though she be but little, she is fierce!

Over the weekend I got to (finally) watch the amazing production of BBC’s Midsummer Night Dreams and I am so glad that I got to watch it.

BBC one – A Midsummer Nights Dream

I just wanted to start off by saying that I am fan of the Mister William Shakespeare. In my Year 12 English class I was pretty much the only one who got it and understood, which was funny considering my dyslexia. I just find the language beautiful to read.

I was really excited to watch this particular production since it had so many actors in that I completely respect and have watched for many years. I was not disappointed by the acting. As I have always felt William Shakespeare flows a lot more when you read it, it always comes a across little disjointed when it’s said out loud. I don’t know if that is just me though.

I have to be honest, the modern twist on it was a little off putting to begin with, but you quickly get over it. William Shakespeare was written at a different time, so to see tablets being used to show pictures and quotes, was honestly, felt really weird.

The acting was superb though! The actors fit their roles to a capital T. Whoever did the casting for this should be very proud of themselves. We were laughing at the right spots, waiting the characters to win and lose at the right spots. The editing felt very fluid as well, never once did I feel like it was disjointed.

A Midsummer Nights Dream IMDb (2016)

A definite 4.5 out 6 books for me. It was just the modern twist at the beginning that put me off. You get over it, but it does seem to ruin the beginning a little bit.

7 thoughts on “And though she be but little, she is fierce!

  1. Eeeee!! I love Shakespeare too! In fact, not only am I named after a Shakespearean character, but I’m also reading The Complete Works right now!! 😀

    OK, I’ll probably be reading it for the better part of a year, so maybe your post’s timing isn’t all that coincidental. LOL

    What year is the BBC’s version of A Midsummer Night’s Dream from? The links don’t work for me (but, the BBC link might be because I’m not a UK person or something?) & I’d like to see if it’s available on Netflix. 🙂

    1. Oh! It was from the UK, so it might not work? I can’t always view US videos, you’d think they’d be able to share with all these technology and stuff!lol
      I’ve done read that before, it does take a while, but there is a definite feeling of accomplishment afterwards!

      1. That’s what I figured. Do you know what year the version of A Midsummer Night’s Dream you watched came out? I might be able to find it with that… or maybe the actors who were in it?

        I know!!! Since I studied English, I feel like I have to read the complete works. Otherwise, I’m not a real English major. LMFAO

      2. I totally agree!! I was looking for Nova episodes the other day & there were some really great episodes…. on “save for later” & there’s no expected release date. That’s infuriating.

Leave a Reply

