Dictionary Meaning

*Now I have putting this post off for a very long time, been debating whether to post or not…But I felt like it needed to be said. I genuinely see a worrying trend starting to happen*

The dictionary term of racism is as follows:

racism
ˈreɪsɪz(ə)m/
noun
 
  1. the belief that all members of each race possess characteristics, abilities, or qualities specific to that race, especially so as to distinguish it as inferior or superior to another race or races.
    “theories of racism”
    • prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism directed against someone of a different race based on the belief that one’s own race is superior.
      “a programme to combat racism”
      I read this and not in one single term or meaning of racism ANYWHERE in the whole entire world does it say anywhere that racism only occurs in one group of colour of people? It does not matter what you “think” this is the facts of the case. There is no mention that racism occurs in only one colour of people. So why do everywhere do I read, it’s not racist if one colour is racist towards another because that person has experienced more racism than the other person? Bad English?
      No if you’re racist, you’re racist. What else is it?
      I know this is not my usual happy-go-lucky post. I am just starting to find it really disturbing though how someone can say they are not racist because the other person doesn’t “understand” but the comments and the hatred, while spewing hatred towards another colour, it feels very segregated. It disturbs me on a level I can’t explain.

      Racism is Racism and Hatred is Hatred, it knows no colour.

    I get that I don’t get what it’s like to be of another colour, but I do get fear and I get hatred. I don’t get going backwards and turning into something you hate and doing the exact same things as something you hate. I guess it’s like the situation with a bully, a lot of the times a bully is a bully because they themselves, have been bullied. I just want to understand I guess.

    I do get how putting people into boxes can lead to bloodshed and something much worse than opening up to communication and trying to understand. Let me in, let me understand what it’s like. I love people of all backgrounds, I know lot’s of people from different backgrounds. I’ve grown up with a lot of different backgrounds and I don’t understand racist people. Understanding our differences, it’s the only way we can understand what makes this world tick, what makes it wonderful.

    When has putting ourselves into boxes and categories and “they’re not us” mentality…EVER…worked?

One thought on “Dictionary Meaning

Leave a Reply

